Monday, March 23, 2026
Is Spring Here?- POEM
Wednesday, March 18, 2026
Are all cereal mascots male?
I don't eat cereal, but I know the certain mascots that are on the box of cereals. From the Cheerios honeybee to Tony the Tigar for frosted flakes. There is one question that might boggle some minds. Why no female cereal mascots?
I mean yes, we do have female food mascots from the Mortan salt girl to Sunshine raisins girl. Even Land O Lakes had a female Indian on their butter packages before removing it. But....in the world of cereal mascots....no females.
Even Raj from Big Bang Theory pointed it out saying, "It's all one big breakfast sausage fest." LOL
Snap, Crackle and Pop are known for their Rice Krispies cereal. Even their treats that are made with their cereal and melting marshmallow melting them together to make a rectangle treat. Snap, Crackle and Pop became the mascots that have changed with every few years.
They were friendly small mascots that make the cereal talk.
Cap'n Crunch is not even a Captain. He's an admiral. How would I know? The design of his uniform. The hat to the stripes on his jacket. But....he always claimed that his cereal stayed crunchy to the last bite.
It was made by the Quaker Oats company as Cap'n Crunch's first name is Horatio. Some people claimed the cereal cut the roof of their mouth. Without me trying it....I wouldn't know, but I wouldn't be surprised.
Tony the Tiger was voiced by the late Thurl Ravencroft. The man behind the "You're a mean one, Mr. Grinch" is involved in voicing the Tiger that wanted kids to play sports while eating sugary cereal. I feel this is......wrong. My brother used to eat this cereal.
People are trying to get kids off of sugary cereals like frosted flakes. But with this mascot.... I don't think it will work. At least he is promoting exercising.
Toucan Sam is another male cereal mascot that gave kids fruity rings called froot loops. However, all of the flavors taste the same.
He used to be voiced by Mel Blanc. Now he's voiced by another actor. Plus....the recent design they made of him makes him look disturbing. It's gonna haunt my nightmares. I think they recently changed Sam back to normal after a lot of complaints and death threats to the Kellogg's company
This bird has a problem. Before I stopped eating cereal, this was the cereal I was into. Eating chocolate cereal called Cocoa Puffs. The mascot was a bird that is obsessed with chocolate. He has a problem and needs help.
Almost all of the mascots that were created has some sort of strangeness. This one goes 'cuckoo for cocoa puffs.
And then, there's the Trix Rabbit who never had one bowl of Trix cereal. (Maybe he had I'm not sure) There is always a quote saying: 'silly rabbit. Trix are for kids.' And of course.... the bunny is depressed. And I thought the cuckoo bird had problems.
With yesterday being St. Patrick's Day, this is one mascot that is tattooed in my childhood thanks to my brother's obsession for Lucky Charms.
It was like Cheerios but had marshmallow bits in it. Like horseshoes, blue moon, red ballon and a few more. They had an interesting ad which had kids trying to catch his cereal and he would find a way to escape. Works every time, I guess.
Why do I feel there is no female cereal mascot in this? I don't know, maybe people thought the demographic would not work if a female character was on a cereal box. They would go with a bird, a bee, a rabbit and even a leprechaun. I guess it's ok, but I feel in the future, there will be our first cereal mascot. But who?
Saturday, March 14, 2026
Pi day-POEM
Tuesday, March 10, 2026
Mario Bros. Movies
Today is March 10th, or as some people say, Mar10 day. Honoring the Super Mario bros. from games to movies.
I want to talk about the movies, but first.... how it all started and how it became a global phenomenon. The story of two Italian plumbers....and how they became amazingly popular.
It was started as a Nintendo game back in 1985 with Mario's first name being 'Jumper Man'. He had a video game that showed him saving a princess named Peach from an evil dragon named Bowser.
It's the whole save a girl from dragon thing. Soon he had a brother named Luigi. In earlier games, both Mario and Luigi looked similar. By the time the 90's hit, they showed a difference in look.
I used to play some of the games, but we had a Sega Genisis. When Nintendo 64 came around, my brother bought the Mario 64 game and well.... he played until he got to the final round.
It was worth it having 3D effects, and it was pretty cool. Then....came the movies.
Before Nintendo 64 came out, there was movie based on the game. Super Mario Bros. starred the late Bob Hopkins and John Leguizamo. Bob portrayed Mario and John was Luigi.
This was supposed to be a live action movie based on the video game. Dennis Hopper played King Koopa. He was supposed to be a Donald Trump like villain with a lizard tongue. (Similar to Donald Trump today) It flopped in theaters and let's just say.... there was not gonna be a sequel.
It would take almost 30 before another film would hit. Some people were skeptical because they were afraid it would feel like the last movie. Thankfully, it was not live action. Chris Pratt would voice Mario.
Some people were skeptical on that since they thought he wouldn't be that great. He was...fine.
Jack Black voiced Bower which was pretty good as he did an amazing job. Charlie Day voiced Luigi. The movie...was ok. Wasn't great, but it was better than the 1993 movie, which I think my brother saw.... but I don't know.
In the movie, Mario and Luigi have a plumbing business that is.... not going well. They end up in another world through a magical pipe.
Luigi ends up in danger as Mario soon finds a mushroom kingdom. He meets Princess Peach and some toads that are going to help Mario save his brother and get them home.
However, they have to deal with other characters like Donkey Kong (voiced by Seth Rogan) and try to beat him to get to where they need to go.
In the new upcoming movie, Yoshi was going to be a new character and he's going to be voiced by Donald Glover. How do I feel about this.... I guess I'm fine with it. I like Donald Glover is a great actor, but Yoshi only says his name over and over again.
Friday, March 6, 2026
Freddie Prinze Jr. Never knew his father
If you know who Freddie Prinze Jr. is, then you have seen him in movies like "I know what you did last summer", "She's all That." "Scooby Doo one and two" and many more. What some might not know is....his father was an actor as well. Sadly....he never knew him since his parents divorced when he was only a baby and his father took his own life at the age of 22
Freddie Prinze was known for his comedy. Doing stand-up and starred in a show called "Chico and the Man"
Never saw one episode, but it starred him as a man named Chico and was with Jack Albertson (known as Grandpa Joe in "Willy Wonka and the chocolate factory") plays a drunk widower who befriends Chico.
I never got into the show since it came out in the 70's and he was only in a few episodes before he took his own life.
He was funny on the show, but nobody knew the dark side of Freddie Prinze Sr. He was doing stand-up comedy to hide his pain and depression he was suffering.
Freddie Prinze Jr. was born in 1976. His father died a year later never knowing his son. Maybe Freddie Prinze Jr. does have a few memories of him, but they are not strong. His family went through a divorce when he was only a baby.
That was the last straw for Freddie Prinze Sr. His depression worsened as he tried to hide it. It got stronger. Finally....he took his own life a year after his only son was born.
Freddie Prinze Jr. is still alive and well. He was raised by his mother and his grandmother in New Mexico. He got his start in acting in the "I know what you did last summer" franchise. He started becoming the go to actor for 90's movies.
Meeting Sarah Michelle Geller and marrying her. They both starred in the "Scooby Doo" franchise as Fred and Daphne.
I think both of them have stopped acting to focus on their family. Maybe Freddie has come back, but I haven't seen him in much. Sarah will be known as 'Buffy' to me. Freddie Prinze Jr. joined the "Punky Brewster" reboot...which didn't do well.
Since then, I haven't seen him in much, but many people who used to watch "Chico and the Man" will see a bit of his father in him.
Too bad he doesn't remember his father that well. Sad that he left us at a young age from depression that overtook him.
If I ever had seen him in anything, it would be his comedy specials. No one knew the sadness inside. Similar to Robin Williams...you never know what comedian holds a darkness in them that some...cannot get out of.
